Category: Uncategorized

Monthly Meeting

Tuesday, July 20th, 7pm
7000 E Loop 1604 N, San Antonio, TX 78266 (map)

We are having our monthly social meeting at Jim’s restaurant. You can come by and bring a friend to meet members of the party in the San Antonio area. Come by if you have questions and want to learn more. Some people arrive earlier to order food and chat as well.

This is a great way to come and learn more and meet like minded people in the area. If you cannot make it and still would like to be involved feel free to reach out. You can contact the officers at You can also sign up for our newsletter (link above) to stay up to date on LPBexar events and information.

HB1535 – Texas Therapeutic Use Update

Today HB1535 was referred to the Senate State Affairs Committee!

HB1535 would expand the Texas Therapeutic Use Program (TCUP) to people suffering from chronic pain and PTSD and would raise the THC cap from 0.5% (hemp is therapeutically indistinguishable at 0.3%) to a still-low but potentially therapeutic 5%. This would FINALLY make TCUP a genuine medical cannabis access program! Text of the engrossed bill below for reference:…/billtext/pdf/HB01535E.pdf

The following members of the Senate State Affairs Committee want to hear from you on HB1535. Please email or call the following Senators:
Sen. Bryan Hughes
Sen. Brian Birdwell
Sen. Donna Campbell
Sen. Bob Hall
Sen. Eddie Lucio Jr.
Sen. Jane Nelson
Sen. Beverly Powell
Sen. Charles Schwertner
Sen. Judith Zaffarini

Here is all of their contact information: As always, be respectful and brief when calling or writing our elected officials but make sure they know we support HB1535 and are encouraging them to pass this bill favorably out of committee.

Legislative Update

Brief update: HB 1987, that limits party officers from running for office, passed out of the Elections Committee, so the fight moves on to the following steps:

A couple other bills we oppose are in the same situation: HB 1812 and SB 2093 (almost identical) will require our candidates to pay filing fees even though the old parties supposedly pay such fees to fund their Primary elections, which we do not use. We encourage you to take the same actions described above to oppose both bills, and use the links provided in this email to stay updated to the status of each.

Thank you for taking action with us!

Also, LPTexas has opened a Legislative Action Fund! Every dollar raised will go straight to maintaining an active, full-time, Libertarian presence at the Capitol. Send questions to the LPTexas Development Dept.:

Monthly Virtual Meeting: Tue 3/16

We are holding a virtual meeting again this month. Anyone can join the discussion. If you have questions about the LP or our candidates then this is a great meeting to join. We hope to see you online!

We generally get started around 7pm for these online meetings with no set agenda.Join us on Google Meet for this event at:

The 2020 Election Season Has Come To An End

We want to thank all of our hardworking candidates for their efforts in the 2020 election. A detailed breakdown of Bexar county election results is available, but for the sake of simplicity, we will provide some notable results below.

President: Jo Jorgensen / Spike Cohen: 1,707,324 votes (Full results pending)

Railroad Commissioner: Matt Sterett: 245,933 votes (2.2%)

Texas Supreme Court, Chief Justice: Mark Ash: 309,218 votes (2.8%)

U.S. Senate: Kerry McKennon: 208,528 votes (1.9%)

State Board of Education 5: Stephanie Berlin: 38,982 votes (3.9%)

Justice of the Peace – Precinct 2 Pl 1: Rhett R Smith: 27,440 votes (19.86%)

U.S. House District 20: Jeffrey Blunt: 5,900 votes (2.2%)

U.S. House District 21: Arthur DiBianca: 8,585 votes (1.9%)

U.S. House District 23: Beto Villela: 8,247 votes (2.8%)

U.S. House District 28: Bekah Congdon: 6,338 votes (2.7%)

U.S. House District 35: Mark Loewe: 7,331 votes (2.7%)

State Senate 19: JoAnne Valdivia: 11,218 votes (3.6%)

State House 117: Tony Quinones: 3,426 votes (3.8%)

State House 118: Eric Velasquez: 1,905 votes (3.3%)

State House 119: Arthur M Thomas IV: 1,329 votes (2.2%)

State House 120: Shawn Huckabay: 1,896 votes (3.2%)

State House 125: Tony Valdivia: 11,333 votes (20.1%)

Come meet Spike, your next Vice President!

Spike Cohen will be coming to San Antonio on October 19th! For details and to RSVP, please visit the Eventbrite or Facebook pages for the event.

Other upcoming events:

Virtual Happy Hour
October 20th, 7pm – 8pm
Join us for a Saturday picnic at Woodlawn Lake Park! Bring your own lunch and beverages and talk with local libertarians and Jo Jorgensen supporters.

This event will be hosted on Google Meet.

Saturday Picnic at Woodlawn Lake Park
October 31st, 12pm – 2pm
Join us for a Saturday picnic at Woodlawn Lake Park! Bring your own lunch and beverages and talk with local libertarians and Jo Jorgensen supporters.

Woodlawn Lake Park
221 Alexander Ave.
San Antonio, TX 78201

LPTexas Campaign Night Cap with Jo Jorgensen
November 7th, 7pm – Midnight
Raise a glass with the woman who carried the torch of liberty to the finish line. Wind down and soak in stories from the campaign trail with your host, Matt Kibbe.

This is a fundraising event for LPTexas, so a ticket must be purchased to attend. Seating is limited to act soon!

295 E San Antonio St
New Braunfels, TX 78130